Commissioner Karin Hoffman, 2021 Chair

Message from the Chair

Thank you for your interest in the Florida commission on the Status of Women. 2021 marks the 30th Anniversary of the Commission, which was created in 1991 by the Florida Legislature.  We are a non-partisan body comprised of 22 Commissioners who focus on raising awareness and celebrating the contributions and successes of women. The Commission hosts community conversations, educational forums and seminars on issues impacting the lives of women. These issues are far-ranging from economic challenges to climbing the ladder of success. 

We believe that the Florida Commission on the Status of Women is stronger and more responsive when you, members of our community, get involved. There is no greater time than now to become informed on issues impacting “the status” of women by attending one of our community conversations, forums and seminars; collaborating with other organizations to maximize impact, completing our surveys, and celebrating the contributions of women who have dared to make a difference while blazing trails for others.

Help us by sharing information about our Commission with your contacts and organizations. We are proud to work collaboratively with organizations across the state with the goal of collectively addressing key challenges. Visit our website frequently, like us on Facebook, following us on Twitter, attending our quarterly meetings, as well as other events and programs that are held throughout Florida. We are here to help whether it is providing a speaker for an event or working together to affect change.

Thank you for your interest and for visiting the Commission’s website. For more information, please contact the Florida Commission on the Status of Women at (850) 414-3300.

About the FCSW

The Florida Commission on the Status of Women is a nonpartisan board, statutorily created in 1991, consisting of 22 appointed members. The Commission is administratively housed in the Office of the Attorney General.

The Governor, the Speaker of the House of Representatives, the President of Senate, and the Attorney General appoint four members, and the Chief Financial Officer and Commissioner of Agriculture each appoint three members for a term of four years.

The Commission's mandate is to study and make recommendations to the Governor, Cabinet, and Legislature on issues affecting women. These recommendations are presented in the form of an annual report that is distributed in the first quarter of each year.