Members of the Florida Women’s Hall of Fame

Elizabeth McCullough Johnson

(1909 - 1973 )
Inducted 1986

Elizabeth McCullough Johnson, was the first woman in the Florida Senate. She was elected in 1962, following four years in the House. Born in Pennsylvania …

Frances Bartlett Kinne

(1917 - )
Inducted 1986

Frances Bartlett Kinne, The first woman president of a Florida university, she became president of Jacksonville University, a private institution, in 1979…

Arva Moore Parks

(1939 - )
Inducted 1986

Arva Moore Parks, A lifelong Miami resident, she graduated from the University of Florida in 1960 and earned a master’s degree from the University of Miami…

Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings

(1896 - 1953 )
Inducted 1986

Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings, Perhaps the best known of Florida authors, moved here in 1928. She was born in Washington, D.C., graduated from the University of Wisconsin in 1918…

Florence Barbara Seibert

(1898 - 1991)
Inducted 1986

Florence Barbara Seibert, A biochemist who developed the skin test that identifies tuberculosis, Dr. Florence Barbara Seibert made a vital contribution to global health. Prevailing …

Marilyn K. Smith

(1936 - 1985)
Inducted 1986

Marilyn K. Smith, of Dade County dedicated her life to enhancing the quality of Jewish life at the local, national and international levels. A native of Chicago…

Eartha Mary Magdalene White

(1876 - 1974 ) Inducted 1986

Eartha Mary Magdalene White, The 13th child of a former slave, was born in Jacksonville. She attended several schools in Florida and in New York City…

Roxcy O’Neal Bolton

(1926 - 2017)
Inducted 1984

Roxcy O’Neal Bolton, Born in Mississippi, of a pioneer settler family, is known as Florida’s Pioneer Feminist and the Founding Mother of Florida NOW. In 1957…

Barbara Landstreet Frye

(1922 - 1982)
Inducted 1984

Barbara Landstreet Frye, As the Capitol Bureau Chief for United Press International from 1944 to 1982, reported on Florida politics under 11 different governors. A model for young journalists…

Lena B. Smithers Hughes

(1910 - 1987)
Inducted 1984

Lena B. Smithers Hughes, is recognized as a pioneer in the development of the Valencia orange, a crop of appreciable importance to Florida. A native of Tennessee…

Zora Neale Hurston

(1901 - 1960)
Inducted 1984

Zora Neale Hurston, was Born into the all-black community of Eatonville, Zora Neale Hurston wrote literature of lasting merit, and yet died a pauper. She earned…

Sybil Collins Mobley

(1925 - 2015)
Inducted 1984

Sybil Collins Mobley, Dean of the School of Business and Industry at Florida A&M University, Dr. Sybil Mobley was born in Shreveport, Louisiana. She earned a master’s in business administration…

Helen Muir

(1911 - 2006)
Inducted 1984

Helen Muir, Born in Yonkers, New York, made a career of writing about Florida after moving to Miami in 1934. She was a columnist for the Universal Service syndicate from …

Gladys Pumariega Soler, MD

(1930 - 1993)
Inducted 1984

Gladys Pumariega Soler, MD, Dr.Gladys P. Soler was born in Pedro Betancourt, Cuba, earned her medical degree from Havana University in 1955, and, after a residency in Jacksonville…

Julia DeForest Sturtevant Tuttle

(1848 - 1898)
Inducted 1984

Julia DeForest Sturtevant Tuttle, A landowner who was key to the development of Miami, Julia Tuttle was born in Cleveland, Ohio. She married in 1871…