Nancy C. Acevedo

Winter Springs

Commissioner Nancy C. Acevedo of Winter Springs was recently appointed to the Commission by Governor Rick Scott. Commissioner Acevedo is currently a Crime…

Maruchi Azorin, M.B.A.


A native of Cuba, Maruchi immigrated to the United States with her family in 1960 due to the effects of the Castro revolution. She attended school in Plant City, Florida and graduated from Plant City Senior High School, as an honor student where she was named

Madelyn E. Butler, MD


Commissioner Madelyn E. Butler, MD, was appointed to the Commission in 2017 by Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam. She was born in Cuba…

Jennifer Houghton Canady


Commissioner Jennifer Houghton Canady of Lakeland was appointed to the Commission in 2017 by Commissioner of Agriculture Adam Putnam. She is the Director of the RISE Institute…

Rita Barreto Craig

Palm Beach Gardens

Rita B. Craig, founder and president of Top Tier Leadership headquartered in Palm Beach Gardens, Florida….

Denise D. Dell-Powell


Commissioner Denise D. Dell-Powell is a partner in the firm’s Central Florida office where she practices in the firm’s bankruptcy, creditors’ rights, distressed property and inventory finance litigation….

Sophia Eccleston


Commissioner and Army Veteran Sophia Eccleston joined Florida Power and Light Company (FPL) seven years ago and is a member of the External Affairs group…

Heather Fitzenhagen

Fort Myers

Florida State Representative Heather Fitzenhagen was appointed to the Commission in 2017 by Speaker of the House Richard Corcoran. Originally from….

Yvonne Fry

Plant City

Yvonne Fry, a native Floridian, grew up in Plant City as part of an agricultural family.  After graduating from the University of Southern Mississippi, she returned home…

Representative Gayle Harrell


Commissioner Gayle Harrell has over 25 years of experience in healthcare. She has worked as a Healthcare Administrator, managing the Ob-Gyn. practice of Dr. James E. Harrell and was the founder…

Karin Hoffman

Lighthouse Point

Commissioner Karin Hoffman of Lighthouse Point has a family-run business, Sonshine Educational Tours, founded by her mother, which has been serving educators and students throughout the nation with educational…

Commissioner Gayle Jacobson
Gayle Jacobson


Commissioner Gayle Jacobson was appointed to the Commission by Senate President Don Gaetz. She has been active in politics since moving to Florida upon…

Carol Schubert Kuntz

Winter Park

Carol Kuntz was appointed to the Florida Commission on the Status of Women in 2018 by Florida Governor Rick Scott….

Wenda Lewis


Commissioner Wenda Lewis was appointed to the Commission in 2014 by Chief Financial Officer Jeff Atwater. Commissioner Lewis currently serves as…

Cara C. Perry

Palm City

Commissioner Cara Carlton Perry was appointed in 2017 by Senate President Joe Negron. She is the Assistant Vice President of Communication for Florida Atlantic University’s Northern Campuses…

Jenna Persons

Ft. Myers

Jenna Persons was appointed to the Commission in 2017 by Senate President Joe Negron. As a partner in the law firm of Strayhorn & Persons, she takes pride in her work and being a part of projects that will…

Commissioner Cindy Ross
Cynthia Hartley Ross


Cindy Hartley Ross is a Lakeland Florida native. She has been married to Dennis Alan Ross for 27 years and they have two children Shane (19) and Travis (17). They are…

Rachel Saunders

Winter Garden

Commissioner Rachel Saunders was appointed by Speaker Richard Corcoran.  She is the Land Specialist with NAI Realvest, a top commercial real estate brokerage in Central Florida.  She currently represents the Orlando-Sanford International Airport…

Elena Spottswood

Key West

Elena Guardiola Spottswood of Key West was born in Havana, Cuba to Cuban born parents Felix A. Guardiola and Elena Plana de Guardiola. She came to the U.S. as…

Marilyn Stout

Cape Coral

Marilyn Stout of Cape Coral was appointed to the Commission in 2018 by Attorney General Pam Bondi. She moved to Cape Coral…

Ashley Wood


Commissioner Ashley Guinn of Melbourne was appointed to the Commission in March 2016 by Speaker of the House Crisafulli. She was born in Riverside, California and moved to Melbourne, Florida…

Lady Dhyana Ziegler, DCJ, Ph.D.


Commissioner Lady Dhyana Ziegler, DCJ, Ph.D. of Tallahassee is the Garth C. Reeves Eminent Scholar Chair of Excellence in the School of Journalism and Graphic…